2020 Raleigh Review Flash Fiction Prize Guidelines

ENTRY FEE: $15 USD, which includes a copy of the Spring 2020 issue.
The Raleigh Review Fiction Team will serve as the judges. 


  • First Prize includes $500 USD and publication in the Spring 2020 issue.
  • Finalists will receive our standard $15 payment along with publication.
  • All Finalists will receive a 2-year subscription to Raleigh Review.
  • All entrants will receive the Spring 2020 issue of Raleigh Review.


  • Opens on July 1, 2019.
  • Deadline is October 31, 2019.
  • Submit up to two unpublished works of flash per entry.
  • Flash works should be no longer than 1000 words each, combine both stories
    in one file.
  • Entries are only accepted via Submittable.
  • Attached files should be free of personal identifiers such as name, address, phone and email, social media handles, etc. 
  • Simultaneous submissions are acceptable. If one or more flash work is selected for publication by another magazine, please leave a note on your submission via Submittable.
  • Failure to meet guidelines may result in disqualification.
  • Current students or affiliates of Raleigh Review editorial staff and Raleigh Review board members are not eligible to enter. 

This contest is open to writers who reside in the USA (regardless of immigration status).

submit You can add HTML directly into this element to render on the page.

Just edit this element to add your own HTML.

  • The standard flash fiction submissions and contest entries are in separate categories of course. At the same time, only contest entries are being considered for our Flash Fiction Prize while standard flash fiction submissions are being considered for publication. We are now actively reading the contest submissions alongside our standard flash fiction submissions to make sure we best represent the strength of the issue Raleigh Review 10.1. Therefore, as we whittle down the queues for both the contest as well as our standard flash fiction submissions it is possible that we will send rejections before the close of the contest on those submissions that will not reach the finalist stage. We figure this is best for writers as one of our aims is to respond to all submissions as fast as we can.