Raleigh Review
501(c)(3) Nonprofit 
EIN: 27-2644341
ISSN: 2169-3943​

A Brief History of Raleigh Review 

Rob Greene launched what is now known as Raleigh Review in his Raleigh home on February 21, 2010, while completing his MFA in poetry from North Carolina State University. Many others joined Greene on Raleigh Review at a crucial time the following month in March of 2010 including his mentors and teachers Joseph Millar and Dorianne Laux as well as those from his MFA cohort including Will Badger and Smriti Ravindra. Since that time, Raleigh Review has evolved into a nonprofit organization that publishes an award-winning literary magazine and offers literary programs to a broad audience. For more details on our history view the interviews at Sapling and The Review Review as well as the highlights below.


  • 2010 – Robert Ian Greene launched the magazine as RIG Poetry on February 21st, 2010. When Will Badger and Smriti Ravindra brought flash fiction to the magazine in March 2010, Rob changed the name to Raleigh ReviewRaleigh Review incorporated as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit on May 21, 2010. Raleigh Review published its first print issue in December 2010. 
  • 2011 – Volume 1 receives 2010 Best of the Net recognition (one fiction winner, three poetry finalists). Raleigh Review offers its first workshop with award-winning poets Joseph Millar and Dorianne Laux. Raleigh Review receives its first United Arts Council grant.

  • 2012 – Volume 2 receives Best of the Net recognition (poetry finalist). Raleigh Review's NC Poetry on the Bus program places writing by NC poets on bus placards on the Raleigh R‑Line. Millar and Laux teach another poetry workshop. Four readings are held by Laux, Millar, and other noted writers, such as Al Maginnes and John Balaban.

  • 2013 – Raleigh Review again offers NC Poetry on the Bus during National Poetry Month. Raleigh Review receives a Gold Summit Creative Award for cover design of Volumes 2 and 3. Five writing workshops are held with instructors such as Marie Howe (State Poet for New York) and Elaine Orr (noted memoirist). Six readings are presented, including NC Poets Laureate Joseph Bathanti and Kathryn Stripling Byer, and Betty Adcock, winner of the NC Medal for Literature. Unspoken Word Open Mic events are introduced.

  • 2014 – Raleigh Review moves to a biannual publication schedule. NC Poetry on the Bus again places poetry on
    the R-Line.
  • ​2015 – Raleigh Review receives grants from United Arts Council of Raleigh & Wake County, City of Raleigh Arts Commission, NC Arts Council, and Caktus Group to support the Southern Recitation Series that presented writers such as Randall Kenan in 2014 and Malena Mörling in 2015, among others. NC Poetry on the Bus again places poetry on the R-Line for a fourth year.

  • 2016 – Raleigh Review Vol. 6, No. 1 and Raleigh Review Vol. 6, No. 2 poems from Matthew Olzmann's "Day Zero"
    and Lana I. Ghannam's "There is a stillness after you" received placement in the spiritual anthology
    from Orison Books. Raleigh Review assists in the launch of Lou Lit Review, the international literary journal
    in the Humanities Division at Louisburg College. 

  • 2017 – Raleigh Review launches the Laux/Millar RR Poetry Prize in the middle of its Volume 7 biannual
    publication cycle. Vol. 7.1 and Vol. 7.2 are released on-time. Vol. 7.1 is reviewed in both The Review Review 
    and in Newpages. Raleigh Review Editors are interviewed in The Review Review.

  • 2018 – A Raleigh Review poem from RR vol. 6.1 ("Blood Sausage" by Lindsay Wilson) receives a special mention in the 2018 Pushcart Prize Anthology. Also, "Kything" by Traci Brimhall was originally published in RR 7.1 (2017) and was then selected for the 2018 Orison Anthology. Volume 8.1 and Volume 8.2 are released on-time. Raleigh Review led the launch of Lou Lit Review  at Louisburg College as they released their first volume.

  • ​2019 –  The short story, "The Good Confession” by A. Muia originally published in Raleigh Review 8.2 
    was selected for the Orison Anthology 2019. Raleigh Review ​was selected as a CLMP Firecracker Finalist in June. 
    RR began hosting a flash fiction prize in the autumn and continued to host the Laux/Millar poetry prize in the spring.

  • 2020 – Raleigh Review celebrated its 10-year anniversary on the exact anniversary date of February 21, 2020.
    The event was hosted by Quail Ridge Books as part of the 2020 NC Book Festival. Readers/presenters included our team members Leila Chatti, Tyree Daye, Bryce Emley, Landon Houle, Rob Greene, Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar. The event was emceed by Heather Bell Adams.

  • 2021 – In spring of 2021, Raleigh Review led the launch of the academic minor in literary publishing and internship program at Saint Augustine's University (SAU). The literary publishing collaboration between SAU and RR is continuing to grow into the next academic year. Raleigh Review was selected as a finalist for the 2021 CLMP Firecracker Awards in the general magazine excellence category.

  • 2022 – Spring of 2022, Raleigh Review helped to expand the minor programs in creative writing and literary publishing to include a major (Bachelor of Fine Arts) degree at Saint Augustine's University while also refocusing the Bachelor of Arts in English program to include a hands-on approach to the humanities with even more programs on the horizon such as an MFA program (2024) as well as a series of future Ph.D. programs in creative writing (2025). Rob Greene served as a judge for the 2022 CLMP Firecracker Awards for magazines. Greene also delivered the news on the future programs via the presentation titled The English Department Revival at the 2022 HBCU Technology Conference together with his SAU colleague Professor Shakima Ellis. Raleigh Review relaunched its Writers' Studio with workshops from Tyree Daye (Feb 2022), Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar (May 2022).