Raleigh Review
501(c)(3) Nonprofit 
EIN: 27-2644341
ISSN: 2169-3943​ 
​ —Subscribe here!


​​The 2024 Laux/Millar RR Poetry Prize Guidelines


  • ENTRY FEE: $15 USD, which includes a free electronic prize issue.
  • The Raleigh Review poetry staff will serve as preliminary judges.
  • The judges of the finalists will be Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar. 


  • First Prize includes $500 USD and publication in the prize issue, both print and online.
  • Finalists will receive standard $15 payment along with publication.
  • Honorable Mentions will be considered for publication and standard payment.
  • All Finalists and Honorable Mentions will receive a 2-year subscription to Raleigh Review.
  • International winners, those based outside the US, will receive payment
    in copies of Raleigh Review.


  • Opens on January 1, 2024.
  • Deadline is June 1, 2024 at midnight EST.
  • Submit up to five pages of unpublished poems per entry.
  • Entries are only accepted via Submittable.
  • Attached files should be free of personal identifiers such as name, address, phone and email, social media handles, etc. 
  • Simultaneous submissions are acceptable. If one or more poems is selected for publication by another magazine, please leave a note on your submission via Submittable.
  • Failure to meet guidelines may result in disqualification.
  • Current students of Raleigh Review editorial staff and Raleigh Review board members are not eligible to enter. 
  • This contest is open to poets who reside in the USA (regardless of immigration status).
  • Those outside the USA are most welcome to submit to this prize though payment for any winners who happen to be based outside the USA will be in copies of Raleigh Review since we are not permitted to mail checks outside our own country.

Selected by Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar (2022)

"The Fever's Children" by Allison Blevins and Joshua Davis

"To our firsts" by Allison Blevins and Joshua Davis
"Another name for weather" by Loisa Fenichell
"Touching" by Loisa Fenichell
"The first letter at the beginning of the end" by Julia Kolchinsky Dasbach

​​Selected by Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar (2021)

"Stag" by Chris Ketchum

Chris Ketchum's poem "Stag" was selected because of: 
"Its well made lines and clean language, as well as its sensuality
and the nature of its associations." -Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar

"Living Room" by Michael Dhyne 
"Alma" by Lauren Green 
"Orpheus" by Lauren Green
"First Love" by Aimee Seu

Selected by Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar (2020)

"And it Don't Stop" by Darius Simpson 

"One Way Sunset" by Alaina Bainbridge
"Haystacks" by Kabel Mishka Ligot
"What I Tell Myself" by Cameron McGill
"Last Call" by Darius Simpson

Selected by Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar (2019)


"Iguana Iguana" by Caylin Capra-Thomas

"We love "iguana, Iguana".  What a glorious ride. We love her use of the "controlling image."  Every time we think she's making a leap away from the iguana, she returns to it with a vengeance.  This poem goes so many places, has so much humor and humanity, so much muchness and toughness and tenderness and forgiveness.  Of everything and everyone.  Jim and Sylvester and William, no-see-ums and mothers, good and bad boyfriends, stray cats and dead birds, dancing pecs and death. Damn, we're impressed." -Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar

"At the Bar" by Cameron McGill
"The Land in Both Our Names" by Suzanne Grove
"After Watching The Quiet Man" by Hannah Dow
​"Sertraline" by Emily Nason

Selected by Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar (2018)

"Forever Daylight" by John Sibley Williams

Honorable Mentions:
"Four Sonnets" by Bailey Cohen [2nd]

"Lightning Flowers" by Emily Mohn-Slate [3rd]

"Other women don't tell you" by Julia Dasbach
"Keloid Scar" by Julia Dasbach
"Sometimes I Pretend the Daughter I Wanted Was Born Alive" by Chelsea Dingman
"After You Have Gone" by Chelsea Dingman

Selected by Dorianne Laux & Joseph Millar (2017)

Poem for My Unborn Daughter" by Kristin Robertson

Honorable Mention:
"All Is Wild, All Is Silent" by Jenna Bazzell

"Reasons to Return Home" by Emily Paige Wilson
"How Not to Remember Your Mother" by Emily Rose Cole
"The Speaker's Prayer" by Jenna Bazzell 
"Erratic transcription of notes taken at a refugee camp in Anse-A-Pitre, Haiti." by Mario Ariza